Buying local- ?????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying local- ?????

I am fairly new to the high end camera stuff and have been spending quite a bit of money of late. My question is, how many buy from local shops instead of the big box stores or on line? I bought my D90, 50mm F1.8 and my 80-200 F2.8 lens locally and between the three, I could have saved over $250 by buying from B&H....and B&H isn't the cheapest around. I know about the imports vs. USA stuff. I am comparing apples to apples here. Just like with bow shops, I want to buy local but the prices are a little ridiculous.

I will say that their knowledge is great at the local stores but so is knowledge I can get from Ken Rockwell and a host of people on here.

What to do?????

Originally posted by texag93 View Post
    but the prices are a little ridiculous.
    ...and the selection is usually sub-par....at least around Houston it is.

I buy online because I know I can find what I want, at a respectable price and right now.

Comment

The selection has been great at the Odessa store and Armadillo camera in Lubbock. They have never not had something on hand for me to at least play with. They will let you try any lens or what ever at either one. The prices are what is killing me.

Comment

Ain't no local shops here. B&H or Adorama for me.

Comment

So far, the only thing I haven't bought online was my camera bag. The one time I took my camera in to a shop to have the sensor cleaned, they took my battery out and didn't return it. When I said something to them, they said there was no battery in the camera when I brought it in and acused me of trying to get a free battery.

Comment

If I can wait a few days, I buy most of my equipment from B&H. I buy from Precision Camera in Austin when I absolutely have to have it now. Some items are more expensive through Precision, but others are the same price,(tax not included).