Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2018, 07:52 PM   #1
CSanders
Ten Point
 
CSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mont Belvieu
Hunt In: Palestine
Default Electrical question for new house and shop

Iím currently building a new house (slab was poured today) and want to hear some suggestions on what I should have the builder do or not do.
After the house is complete Iím going to have my shop built by a different contractor. Do I need a separate breaker panel to have 220 in the shop? Should I have the builder go ahead and run power underground to where the shop will be? Iím sure the builder will have an answer for this but I wanted to hear some different opinions.
CSanders is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:00 PM   #2
8mpg
Ten Point
 
8mpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: DFW
Default

I think its all depends on use and budget. How much electricity do you really need in the shop? Lots of people love to run 200amp panels out to the shop but probably wont use 1/4 of it. I have 60 amps in mine and run a table saw, air compressor, welders, etc without any trouble. You need an idea of how much electricity you will use at a single time. You can have 200amps worth of breakers on a 60 amp box and be fine.

If you are using multiple pieces of big equipment at once, you may consider doing its own meter or something like 200amp service.

Budget is a big consideration in my book. My neighbor put in a separate meter and the electric company charged him $3k to run the power out to the shop.
8mpg is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:03 PM   #3
Muskles
Ten Point
 
Muskles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville
Hunt In: Cherokee Co
Default

My shop has it's own meter. It was that way when I got the place though.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
Muskles is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:04 PM   #4
CSanders
Ten Point
 
CSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mont Belvieu
Hunt In: Palestine
Default

I’ll use a welding machine and everything else you listed but never more than one at a time.
CSanders is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:09 PM   #5
125Dad
Pope & Young
 
125Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: keller
Hunt In: Coke Co.
Default

It kinda depends for me on what I would do.

Is the home builder doing the sod and sprinkler system around home?
Then I would have him run a two inch pipe out from under all his work so that the next guy would not mess with first guys work.

Hope that makes sense.
125Dad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:13 PM   #6
125Dad
Pope & Young
 
125Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: keller
Hunt In: Coke Co.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxxed Outdoors View Post
Iíll use a welding machine and everything else you listed but never more than one at a time.
A good electrical contractor will be able to calculate your service. Once again I would pay home builder have that done so the first electrician build what you need so when you do build shop itís there.
125Dad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:15 PM   #7
125Dad
Pope & Young
 
125Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: keller
Hunt In: Coke Co.
Default

Another thing to think about is gas and water. I would consider getting them ran out to the new shop location. Just in case you ever need it.
125Dad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:31 PM   #8
CSanders
Ten Point
 
CSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mont Belvieu
Hunt In: Palestine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 125Dad View Post
It kinda depends for me on what I would do.

Is the home builder doing the sod and sprinkler system around home?
Then I would have him run a two inch pipe out from under all his work so that the next guy would not mess with first guys work.

Hope that makes sense.
Yes they are doing the aerobic system. I’m glad you said that, I forgot about it. And yes that makes sense.
CSanders is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-02-2018, 08:39 PM   #9
BigCohiba
Six Point
 
BigCohiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Huffman
Hunt In: Angelina County
Default

I have a 200 amp service at the house. I have a 100 amp sub panel in my shop fed from a 90 amp breaker in my main panel at the house. It’s pretty easy to add later. I rented a trencher for a half day and ran conduit over 150’ or so to my shop. Suggest also running water line and wire for cameras, cable, and phone while you’re running power. It can all go in the same trench.

Last edited by BigCohiba; 05-02-2018 at 08:42 PM.
BigCohiba is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2018, 09:44 AM   #10
8mpg
Ten Point
 
8mpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: DFW
Default

If you are only using one piece of equipment at a time. I'd run a subpanel off the house. It'll be cheaper than running its own meter, and you will only have one bill. If you dont use enough electricity on a separate meter, you still have a minimum bill.
8mpg is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2018, 10:45 AM   #11
Killer
Ten Point
 
Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Powderly, TX
Hunt In: God's green earth
Default

Distance will be a determining factor also. How far is the house and shop apart? 150ft are less you can do it no problem; If it is over 200ft voltage drop will be a problem!
Killer is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2018, 10:51 AM   #12
dustoffer
Pope & Young
 
dustoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seguin, Tx
Hunt In: S/Central Tx
Default

I have no clue what amp rating the panel in my shop has, but very infrequently, when I kick on the table saw, or planer, which also kicks on the shop-vac dust collector, it trips the breaker. It can be cold, hot, humid, dry, doesn't matter. I reset the breaker and then it's fine until the next time, which could be a month, 6 months, or longer.
dustoffer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2018, 12:54 PM   #13
kingranch
Ten Point
 
kingranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: austin
Default

100 amp off house to seperate box in shop, unless you are a full time worker out of your shop this will be more than sufficient
kingranch is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com