257wby Bullets?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

257wby Bullets?

What’s you go to for dropping a big whitetail in his tracks? This would be on big Mexico bucks with no concern for meat saving just for making sure a buck runs in the thick brush as little as possible. Also shots would be 200ish max

I'd be looking at Partitions or Accubonds at weatherby speeds

Comment

I use the 110 grain accubonds and have had great results.

Comment

110 Accubonds is what I have been using for the last 10 years on my 257 WBY. I am thinking of trying out the ELD-X from Hornady. My buddy shoots them and they do a ton of damage, softball size exit holes.

Comment

A strong bullet and shoulder shots usually anchor them for me

Comment

I was looking hard at Accubonds. Chad at Custom Reloads of Dallas suggested the 115 berger vld with what I told him which kind of caught me off guard at 200yd or less and 3300-3400fps.

Comment

Originally posted by bphillips View Post
              I was looking hard at Accubonds. Chad at Custom Reloads of Dallas suggested the 115 berger vld with what I told him which kind of caught me off guard at 200yd or less and 3300-3400fps.
              No experiece with the Bergers in the weatherby but when run hard out of my sendero 25-06 they can be nasty.

Comment

Originally posted by 2Lazy2P View Post
                No experiece with the Bergers in the weatherby but when run hard out of my sendero 25-06 they can be nasty.
                In a good way?

Comment

Ive shot countless deer with my vanguard sporter. Made the switch from 120gr partitions last year to the 110gr Accubonds (which are more accurate out of my rifle) shot 3 deer last year and 4 this year. Everyone hit in front of the shoulder at the base of the neck. All 7 DRT, not one step. All at 200 yards or less. Zero bullet pass throughs but you dont need a pass through or bloodtrail if you smack em on the stop button

Comment