Fly fishing Galveston

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fly fishing Galveston

Will be staying on the seawall Aug 8-10 and would like to do some fly fishing one morning for trout or reds or just anything. Any suggestions where I should try, and/or a guide that would not break the bank, but put me on a few fish?

BTW I am a rookie at FF and have 5 weight if that guides your advice. I would appreciate any suggestions short of "stay home" (i can always drink and eat seafood)

Comment

watching this one. Ive done a lot of fly fishing but never anything in salt water. thanks for the thread.

Comment

I'd stay Bay side. You can try San Louis Pass ( but be careful...undertow). This being said, I did see a guy in the surf years ago catching trout with a fly rig...ticked me off because I was using live shrimp under a popping cork!

Keys are early...light wind...clear water (fingers crossed)

Comment

Surf would be good depending on water and wind. If it's green you'll have good shots and pomps, trout and ladyfish. I don't like SLP, dangerous, trashy and too many people. The marsh drains behind Point Weste usually has some good reds. But if the water isn't good for the surf my first choice would be Rollover bay.

Comment

Not sure where to point you at, but I hear Thomas Barlow knows west bay, so I am sure you could do some sight casting for reds with him.

Might be worth calling him.

Comment

Thanks. Keep the advice coming. The more ideas, the better the chance of finding a gem. Thanks to all

Comment

I haven't had a lot of success with it, but I've just started. If you're driving, you might want to stop by Fishing Tackle Unlimited on I-45 & Fuqua for pattern suggestions. I've heard the fly guy ties a "redfish crack" that is unbelievable.

Seems like best luck is on the bayside, or across SLP in Bastrop Bay. You should be able to wade most of those, but watch out for the current at the pass. Wouldn't recommend wading there.