Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2018, 11:01 AM   #1
texasforever
Eight Point
 
texasforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: wharton
Hunt In: lavaca co.
Default Lightbar wiring question

Currently in the process of mounting a 30" lightbar in the center bumper cutout on a 2011 model chevy. I have it in place and all bolted down (took about forever). Now im attempting to tackle the wiring issue. I figured it would be toomuch draw to tap into the foglights and i havent found a suitable place to run wires through the firewall. Has anyone done this before and has and tips as to how to go about running the switch into the cab? Trying to avoid having to drill any holes if it is at all possible. Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
texasforever is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 11:09 AM   #2
npe001
Ten Point
 
npe001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tomball, Texas
Hunt In: Madisonville, Tx
Default

Just poke a hole through the firewall or find an existing whole and mount the switch under the Steering wheel. Extremely easy.
npe001 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 11:10 AM   #3
175gr7.62
Ten Point
 
175gr7.62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hallsville, TX
Hunt In: Red River County,Harrison County, SW Kansas,
Default

I have cut holes through the rubber boot that surrounds the steering shaft where it passes through the firewall if you are dead set on not drilling.

If you want to run them off your fog lights just run a rely. Use the fog light power to energize the coil and run main light bar power straight to you battery.

Last edited by 175gr7.62; 03-26-2018 at 11:12 AM.
175gr7.62 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 11:11 AM   #4
hboy35
Spike
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Anywhere
Default

I assume you are using a wiring harness? If so, I just poked mine into the cab, after making the connections not at the battery but at the power box under the hood. I made a small slit in the boot by the steering column and pushed the switch part through. If you make a small enough slit, it pretty much seals itself. I dabbed on a bit of silicone for good measure. I then drilled a small hole in the lower plastic below my steering wheel to mount the switch--all done.
hboy35 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 11:23 AM   #5
texasforever
Eight Point
 
texasforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: wharton
Hunt In: lavaca co.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hboy35 View Post
I assume you are using a wiring harness? If so, I just poked mine into the cab, after making the connections not at the battery but at the power box under the hood. I made a small slit in the boot by the steering column and pushed the switch part through. If you make a small enough slit, it pretty much seals itself. I dabbed on a bit of silicone for good measure. I then drilled a small hole in the lower plastic below my steering wheel to mount the switch--all done.
This is kind of what i was thinking about doing. I have the harness all wired with a relay and everything just wasnt real sure about the best way to run the switch in. Ive done this before just on older models with alot more room for accessories.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
texasforever is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 01:28 PM   #6
trx250r
Six Point
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Default

Just use fog light wire to activate a relay. No amperage will be pulled from the wire at all. Did this in 14 have not had a problem yet

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
trx250r is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 01:36 PM   #7
ryan1ut
Nubbin' Buck
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by npe001 View Post
Just poke a hole through the firewall or find an existing whole and mount the switch under the Steering wheel. Extremely easy.
This is definitely the way I would go. Super easy.
ryan1ut is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 01:49 PM   #8
texasforever
Eight Point
 
texasforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: wharton
Hunt In: lavaca co.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trx250r View Post
Just use fog light wire to activate a relay. No amperage will be pulled from the wire at all. Did this in 14 have not had a problem yet

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Bought a harness to use thats already pre wired. Do you have an example of this?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
texasforever is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 01:52 PM   #9
trx250r
Six Point
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Default

Does it have the relay already? Mine did. But if not here is a relay wiring diagram . Just hook up switch to fog light wire

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
trx250r is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 02:13 PM   #10
texasforever
Eight Point
 
texasforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: wharton
Hunt In: lavaca co.
Default

Yes it has a relay already wired into it. Ill try to get a picture of the harness later to show

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
texasforever is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 02:23 PM   #11
texasforever
Eight Point
 
texasforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: wharton
Hunt In: lavaca co.
Default

This is the diagram included with the harness

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
texasforever is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 02:39 PM   #12
Raider4044
Eight Point
 
Raider4044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Hunt In: Nolan County
Default Lightbar wiring question



This is how I wired mine with a 3-way switch, except I used the high beams instead of fog lights.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Raider4044 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 03:13 PM   #13
SAC
Ten Point
 
SAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Weimar,TX
Hunt In: Lavaca, Fayette & Colorado Co.
Default

Splice the blue wire into your fog light hot. Everything else follow the diagram.
SAC is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-26-2018, 03:15 PM   #14
mastercraftka
Eight Point
 
mastercraftka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: TEXAS
Hunt In: South Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasforever View Post
Currently in the process of mounting a 30" lightbar in the center bumper cutout on a 2011 model chevy. I have it in place and all bolted down (took about forever). Now im attempting to tackle the wiring issue. I figured it would be toomuch draw to tap into the foglights and i havent found a suitable place to run wires through the firewall. Has anyone done this before and has and tips as to how to go about running the switch into the cab? Trying to avoid having to drill any holes if it is at all possible. Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
I hooked mine to the fog lamps and use the existing fog lamp button on the console. No need to rewire.
mastercraftka is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com