Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Public Hunting Opportunities

Old 02-07-2017, 05:37 PM   #1
Jessebeaux
Nubbin' Buck

Default Tpwd

Hello! I'm new to TEXAS and new to TBH and so far Im enjoying it! I have one more semester of college to pay for then i can hopefully get into a lease but as for now Im researching public land hunting... I have been spending a lot of time on TPWD.com and have purchased an AHP and have a booklet on the way. However, I have begun reviewing the online public land locator map on the TPWD website. It is pretty straight forward and I think I understand my rights, regulations, etc. However i am confused on a few things:
1) The map does not list LBJ grasslands. Only Caddo? why is that? Are they the same?
2) What are E postcard hunts?
3) Is the TPWD rules, regulations, and maps found on the website up to date and reliable?
4) I live in Flower mound (Dfw area) any recommendations on what area i should focus on for archery deer hunting?
5) any tips, tricks or advice on Texas public land hunting i need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance! sorry for the long thread....
Jessebeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 02-07-2017, 06:08 PM   #2
Sideler
Ten Point

I can't answer all of your questions, but I'll tackle 3 and 5.

3. E-postcard hunts- In the past many public areas had hunts that you would apply to by sending them a postcard with your name and info on it. The postcard would be sent directly to the hunt area and not TPWD. The area would then draw the cards until they had the desired amount of hunters.
When TPWD started accepting their own applications online many of the postcard hunt areas decided it was easier to let TPWD handel the draws for them instead of using their own personnel. I believe the E stands for electronic vs the old school mail in postcard.