Bought an AR, now what?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bought an AR, now what?

I'm a bow hunter and have always been one. I don't shoot guns very often. I've been wanting to get an AR platform gun and last night I did.

I've got an Armalite Eagle with the wylde barrel.

That's about all I know.

I'd like to change up some of the accessories on it, but I don't know what or where to get them.
    Any suggestions?
    I'm really a novice when it comes to this, so please keep it simple and explain what you're saying.

I did some searching on here and I see several mentions about SBR ( no clue what that means)

It's bare bones right now. I bought a couple mags, and a rear sight. I'm thinking about maybe a red dot scope, but not sure if it's what I want or need.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

SBR stands for short barrel rifle. If I were you I would start by putting a good trigger in it then put optics on it

Comment

Bought an AR, now what?

SBR is a Short Barrel Rifle.
      Here's a link to wiki

The twist rate can be important to know. Heavier bullets need a faster twist rate to stabilize.
      But lighter bullets in a fast twist can be over stabilized, I think that's how to say it.
      Here's a chart that helps

You can change up all the accessories on it. Me I'd personally shoot it and see what you don't like or want to change.
      I bought a Delton, didn't like the front sight or military style hand guards. So when I bought it I had them remove the front sight, swap out to a free float hand guard. Why? I think it looks cleaner.
      Shot it some. Didn't like the trigger or the grip, I wear a 2XL glove. Trigger had more take up than I cared for plus it was heavy. I added a cmc or cmmg 3.5# single stage trigger and a BCM Gunfighter grip w/interchangeable back straps.