Does with fawns still showing spots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does with fawns still showing spots

Would you shoot a doe with fawns who had just a few spots showing still? I know once the bucks start hooking up with the does they run the fawns off and wean them. At what time would you shoot a doe with fawns in tow?
    Last edited by BGRAX; 10-05-2016, 09:42 AM. Reason: Wrong title

I watched all does on opening weekend because the only ones I saw were ones with small fawns with lots of spots

Comment

Wouldn't it be better to shoot does without fawns? Leave the ones alive that are breeding? I'm new to this and have been curious about that

Comment

I hunted last two days and all I saw were does with dawn's that still had lots of spots. They got a pass. Too bad cause I won't be able to hunt again till after for season is over

Comment

If I have a choice in does - I will shoot the doe w/o fawns every time. If the fawns are bigger w/ just faint spots - they probably will be fine though.

Comment

Never seen a thread like this one on TBH before...

Comment

All the does I saw except two had fawns with faint spots. Was trying to get the wife her first bow kill on one without a fawn but didn't come in to her range. Stayed just outside her range. The other one was a white doe and the land owner has all the white deer off limits. A spike came in the next morning close enough for the wife but he jumped her string and her arrow hit one of his horns. She was excited though. Hell I was more nervous than she was.

Comment

I passed all the ones with fawns. Just was wondering if someone was to shoot one with fawns with a few faint spots left would they be able to survive. As protective as the does are when they have fawns killing one would be a feat as on edge as they are.

Comment

Originally posted by BGRAX View Post