Feedback on Nikon D810

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Feedback on Nikon D810

I have been shooting the D700 Full Frame body for several years and am thinking about upgrading to the D810.
    I am looking for some feedback from any of my fellow TBH'ers that are currently shooting it. I would add that all of my lenses are high quality glass.
    I want the good, the bad, and the ugly.
    Thanks in advance for your feeback.

I have one and wouldn't give it up for anything...I absolutely love it. Really depends on what you shoot and how you are going to use it. For long exposure, landscape, portrait, travel photography it is amazing and the images are stunning. I found my Sigma 35mm art lens lives on the camera 75% of the time and the resolution is phenomenal.

For general wildlife photography it is excellent as you can start with a 36MP file and crop significantly if needed to gain reach. For fast moving birds or BIF 6 frames per second is nothing to sneeze at but there are faster options.

As for high ISO performance, the D750/DF/D4s/D5 are better performers due to lower MP and larger pixel density but I wouldn't hesitate to shoot up to 3200/6400 ISO with the 810. Higher ISO plus heavy cropping can increase the noise significantly. If I am shooting waterfowl or duck hunting/retrievers before sun up with high shutter speeds and 10,000+ ISO I rent the D4S. The other 90% of the time D810 is far superior and the best camera Nikon makes in my opinion.

Image size/file size can be a double edged sword...it is a luxury to have that kind of resolution but it comes at a price. File sizes can be quite large...a full raw converted to JPEG out of Lightroom can be 30-40MB. Makes it a pain to email photos to friends as most conventional mailboxes have size restrictions. That is really the only downside.

Comment

Originally posted by Closetohome View Post