New to APH, lots of questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to APH, lots of questions

My usual hunting has been the drawn hunts (which with my luck, i think i have better chances getting stuck by lighting then getting drawn), a few management hunts on ranches, and hunting out of state. I am only going to get a few days of out of state hunting, so i am trying the APH program. I am new to the APH permit, and I leave near San Antonio. When I think public hunting in texas, i think it would be like fishing at Bob Hall pier during a holiday weekend.... As$es to elbows. Am I wrong on this? I am willing to do a little traveling to hunt at a descent location. As i am looking at the map, doesn't look like there is too much land around San Antonio for whiltetails. Any help pointing me to a park would be great. Don't want to take anyone's hunting spot, I treasure my hunting time too.

thanks guys

The closest APH Unit for whitetails is San Angelo State Park and that is Archery Only, no firearm hunting except through the drawing hunts. Here is the list for Units within the APH that allows white-tailed deer to be hunted (not all Units allow firearms).

Region 3 – Central Texas:
    San Angelo SP – Unit #1166

Region 4 – Dallas/Ft. Worth:
    Cooper WMA - Unit #731
    South Sulfur Unit-Cooper Lake SP - Unit #1155
    Caddo National Grasslands WMA - Bois D’ Arc Unit #901N
    Caddo National Grasslands WMA - Ladonia Unit #901S
    Tawakoni WMA - Unit #708
    Pat Mayse WMA - Unit #705

Region 5 - Pineywoods:
    White Oak Creek WMA - Unit #727
    Angelina Neches/Dam B WMA - Unit #707
    Caddo Lake WMA - Unit #730
    Alazan Bayou WMA – Unit #747E
    Alazan Bayou WMA – Unit #747W
    Campbell Timberland Mgmt. Newton County - Unit #122
    Sabine River Authority Panola County - Unit #630
    Moore Plantation WMA - Unit #902
    Campbell Timberland Mgmt. Unit #106
    Bannister WMA - Unit #903
    North Toledo Bend WMA - Unit #615