Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 01-31-2012, 10:12 PM   #1
texag93
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Panhandle
Default What I know about calling coyotes.....

I get alot of PM's asking questions about varmint hunting....specifically calling coyotes. I have been asked by several to impart some of my knowledge in a thread. Well here goes....

I will start by saying I am no expert coyote hunter. I don't make a living at it and I haven't won any contests doing it. It's a 25 year long hobby that I have just gotten serious about in the last 5 years. There are many on TBH with more experience than me. I hope they will chime in and add their knowledge as well....especially about night hunting. All of my info is based on daytime calling.

This is what works for me.....

Equipment: Here it is in a nut shell(or photo)

Name:  0005.JPG
Views: 9906
Size:  170.0 KB

-Remington R15 in 223 with 18" barrel, P.E.P.R Burris mount, Leupold 3-9x40 VX II, 20rd mag.
-Winchester SX2 3" auto shotgun with 24" barrel, Hevi-Shot Dead Coyote choke and Tru-glo adjustable turkey sight.
-FoxPro Fury
-Hornady 223 55gr. VMax
-Remington 3" #4 buckshot(41-24cal. pellets)
-Mojo Critter decoy
-Mojo Woodpecker decoy
-Stoney Point bipod(for AR)
-Primos Trigger Stick(for shotgun)
-Assortment of hand calls and squeakers

I usually take most everything pictured on every trip. Thats what the back seat is for. I never no what the situation will dictate, so take it all.

My rifle will shoot under 1 MOA at 100yds and the shotgun will put 15+ pellets in a 15" circle at 50yds. It took me many targets, many brands of shells and a very sore shoulder to find the combo that would do this.

Now, to the coyote part. Learn your enemy. Here is some reading that I'm not going to get that far into: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coyote For the most part, everything seems factual here. Gives you some good insight into Canis latrans.