Sizing square tubing for stairs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sizing square tubing for stairs

I need some help from the green screen structural / engineering brain trust. I am going to build a set of stairs like these for my shop but they will pivot at the top so I can winch them up out of the way so I want to limit the weight but want them safe. So my question is what size and thickness square tubing should I use the two side pieces? The length of the tubing will be 14 ft. Thank you for the help.
    Attached Files

Given that the stairs will only see the weight of a person or two, I would think that 2" X 3/16" or 2" X 1/4" would suffice. Please note that I am not an engineer or structural designer just been in the fabrication business for 20 years. Also, one thing you could also do if you wanted a bit more strength is to get the tubing in A500 grade B which is 50 ksi material as opposed to A36 which is 36 ksi yield.

Comment

Are you worried about that look? We got stairs for a deer blind made out of c-purloin and it would be much lighter than tubing yet stronger.

Comment

Originally posted by scott123456789 View Post
        Are you worried about that look? We got stairs for a deer blind made out of c-purloin and it would be much lighter than tubing yet stronger.
        This.

Comment

Originally posted by scott123456789 View Post
          Not worried about the look at all as these are just going to be used in the shop to access my storage space. Any thoughts on the size and thickness c-purloin that would work best?

Comment

I used 8" c purlin for the sides and step on mine and a cheap harbor freight electric hoist for mine. I made a spring loaded latch at the top to hold the weight until I am ready to lower it.

Comment

By the way my stairs are about 12 ft long and I weight over 350 and they are solid.

Comment

I built a stairwell for my son's deer stand out of 6" C purlin --- got the idea from someone on here