Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

East Texas Bow Buck Down - First Bow Buck 10-18 (long read)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

East Texas Bow Buck Down - First Bow Buck 10-18 (long read)

I've been hunting for about 25 years since I was a child sleeping in the bottom of my dad's box stand at our place we had for 20 years in Centerville. We lost that place about 7 years ago, and moved to this new place in Anderson county. We never really bow hunted at our old place, but I started getting into it more when we moved to this new spot. I've managed to shoot 2 does, and 5 pigs in the past two years with my bow, but never a buck. The deer around here aren't anything special. If you kill a 130" buck, you shot a really good one. A 120" mature deer is about what you consider a trophy here.

Last year, I saw this buck come in as what I thought was a 3.5 year old, but had suspicions he may be 4.5 yr old. It was a bit hard to tell, but I knew this next year he would be on the target list. Well, we didn't see him all spring/summer until about the first of september. He showed up with a small 8 pointer, and he was the first buck we had on camera all year that seemed to be localized and move into the area. I've been watching him at all our setups since then, except for about a 2 week period he disappeared. He had broken off his entire MB past his G2 in velvet, and I was a bit disappointed. However, I told myself and my buddies, if he came out he needed an arrow and I'd be happy with him.