Dealership puts gas in F350 diesel engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dealership puts gas in F350 diesel engine

So McRee ford in Dickinson filled my Diesel up with gas during a maintenance service yesterday. They claim the truck wasn't driven just idoled with the gas in it. Service guy calls me and tells me that they are going to fix it and make it right their cost. Im not a mechanic, know nothing really about engines. What would you do? I haven't spoken with them today.

I have "heard" if it was ran... injectors , glow plugs should at least be changed..as they 'will' fail..
    But id be equally concerned that it ran, and what damage was caused/could be caused to valves, rings, pistons, rods, crank, etc with a higher flash point fuel being pre-ignited...

simply draining the tank, wouldnt be 'fixing' it to me...
    Last edited by systemnt; 10-19-2017, 11:25 AM.

Comment

Get it in writing that they take responsibility for any damage and let them fix it..

Comment

Get something in writing that they put gas in it and exactly what they did to it afterwards.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Comment

That what I was thinking. Have invoices for every part with my vin number on the invoice.

Comment

What year?

Comment

Comment

Worried about future performance of the vehicle.

Comment

Originally posted by C-beck View Post
                  Worried about future performance of the vehicle.
                  Make them buy it?

Comment

Not as bad as the other way around, diesel in gas engine. How much diesel did the tank have in it before they put in gas? If at 50/50 of so i doubt it would do much damage if any.

Comment

Originally posted by Shinesintx View Post
                      Make them buy it?