culling older bucks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

culling older bucks

I have little knowledge of deer genetics and herd management, and over the years of reading different management practices, it seems that a common tactic is to shoot older bucks that are in decline. Sometimes the buck being killed used to be a stud. So my questions and after thought questions are:
    1. why kill a buck that has awesome genetics because he is going into decline? wouldn't you want him to keep breeding until he dies?
    2. if a buck was 14 points last year and now he is a 12 point from age decline, would you still keep him in the herd over a nice 10 point? when does the genetics from the 14 point stop producing 14 point sperm?

Very good question. I think you are correct, but alot of us hunt for horn size so that is why people shoot a declining buck.

Comment

When we have enough 14 and 12 points running around on the place to warrant killing them, I'll let you know how we deal with it then. Can't wait to have "problem" like this. Currently our super stud bucks have a do not shoot policy and will have a natural death. But we need them badly in our program. Our place is not to the point where there are worth more dead yet.

But I think that is how you decided whether or not to take them. They may still be producing star sperm, but as long as you have other rising stars of equal or better size, you may want to take him for pride value or sell his hunt to a client before his on hoof value decreases with his antler size.

However to hear some of these bigger ranches with years invested into grooming their whitetail population talk- you will have to wait a while--7 or 8+ years old-- to see them go "downhill".
      Last edited by perfectstorm; 04-03-2014, 10:23 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by dsliland View Post