Euro mount ???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Euro mount ???

I was doing some Euro's this weekend, a doe (my 1st bow kill) and a spike (a friend of mine's 1st bow kill) The spike was a button buck that they originally thought was a doe. Anyway I put both heads in the pot and simmer for about an hour. I then grab the heads, the doe first and scrape off as much meat as I can it took no longer than 5 min, after the doe I grab the button buck with the giant tongs I use to retrieve the heads and the skull just falls apart... I mean it just crumbles... I am embarrassed and feel terrible because I volunteered to do the Euro for them. I am by no means an expert (I have done 9 total in 2 years and learn something every time I do one) but I have never had a skull do this.

What would have caused this? The deer was so young the sutures were not fully closed? When cleaning the skull it felt solid, nothing that made me think that boiling the head would cause it to dissipate?

Thanks for any ideas or suggestions on how to handle a button buck skull in the future if I ever try it again

my guess would be that it was so young that the bones hadn't fused completely

Comment

That would be my guess, too. I don't know what you could do to prevent it in the future, except for maybe dermestid beetles.

Comment

Do not boil for longer than 30 minutes.

Comment

Gotta be careful with the youngsters. As already stated that's a big reason it came apart. Make sure you keep your skulls off the bottom of your pot. If you can put a screen in there a couple inches up that will help as well.

Comment

Originally posted by okietaxi View Post
            Do not boil for longer than 30 minutes.
            Thank you for the tip... is this for all heads or just the young ones?

Originally posted by TrevorE View Post