Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Short Vs. Long Axle to Axle; Myth, Fact and Opinion...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I hear it all the time, I see it all the time and, as a coach, I am constantly trying to tech someone a less effective way to shoot due to it; It is a short axle to axle bow.

Myth, marketing and hype: A bow can't be a "hunting" bow unless it is short axle to axle. Do not be deceived friends, this is almost always a marketing ploy. For years we had nothing but long axle to axle bows and we hunted with them just fine. In fact, trad shooters of today still use bows in excess of 60 inches to hunt with; so what's the deal? Is a short bow a benefit in a blind, on a stand or when spot and stalking thick brush? Maybe, but does that benefit out weight the costs? Maybe not.

Why you should consider a long(er) axle to axle bow: Accuracy and repeatability.

This weekend my son bought his first bow (with his own money); he shot every bow in the bow shop and ultimately decided on the Centergy Hybrid. Gage is 6 feet tall and a DL of about 28.75 inches. But what I was able to see was, in shooting the shorter bows, how the string angle effected his posture while at full draw very clearly.

With the short bows his head was tilted way down to get his nose on the string, which is how he wants to shoot. It wasn't until he drew the Hybrid, at 35.25" A2A, that he was really comfortable. He picked the bow, and he picked one that fit him well and, I am sure, that he will be able to shoot very accurately because it fits him.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a long axle to axle advocate; I'm a right fit advocate. However, I see so many shooters (hunters) with a 28-30 inch bow that just doesn't fit them. Why? I can only guess, but it probably has something to do with that afore mentioned marketing and what is available and "hot" at the time.