Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2018, 12:29 PM   #1
pilar
Ten Point
 
pilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Boerne
Hunt In: Sisterdale and el dorado , Jeff Davis, refugio/sinton
Default SD/SIM card problems

We are doing a protein consumption study and are having major issues with our SIM cards, we use multiple brands of TC's , could this be the reason?
Or is it weather related? Or could they just be faulty? Or to close to our spare batteries? We carry them in a zip lock when not in use.
Any SIM card guru's
pilar is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 12:38 PM   #2
dphillips62
Eight Point
 
dphillips62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Victoria
Hunt In: Mission Valley, Victoria, and anywhere else I can sling an arrow
Default

I have had issues with using the same card in different cameras. Now I mark my cards for a certain game cam.
dphillips62 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 12:39 PM   #3
bowhuntertex
Pope & Young
 
bowhuntertex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wimberley
Hunt In: Where ever the wind takes me......
Default

Do you format the cards every time you pull them out to look at them? I use multiple brands of cameras and once I download the pics I want from a card I always format it and have never had a problem with a card.
bowhuntertex is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 01:00 PM   #4
pilar
Ten Point
 
pilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Boerne
Hunt In: Sisterdale and el dorado , Jeff Davis, refugio/sinton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowhuntertex View Post
Do you format the cards every time you pull them out to look at them? I use multiple brands of cameras and once I download the pics I want from a card I always format it and have never had a problem with a card.
No I don't think we do , we are down loading the pictures, and placing them back into rotation for field use

Another reason might be, the kids changing the cards are all a bunch of WEED heads , and probably can't follow protocol on formatting

Last edited by pilar; 01-24-2018 at 01:17 PM.
pilar is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 01:02 PM   #5
Dillakilla
Eight Point
 
Dillakilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: DFW
Hunt In: Comanche County
Default

Yes format everytime especially when changing between cameras even if sMe brand
Dillakilla is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 01:32 PM   #6
ddcainjr
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Spring
Hunt In: Schleicher County
Default

I never knew this. I bet this will fix some of the problems I've been having.
ddcainjr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 01:38 PM   #7
512robby
Four Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Format using the device it will be used in if possible

Let the camera format the card

Not your computer

FAT32 has been the staple format for cards for a long time

Another newer format called EXFAT is taking over

Understand the difference an make sure you are formatting in the correct format for your device

Buy some electronic contact cleaning spray and keep the camera and card contacts clean


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
512robby is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 02:12 PM   #8
pilar
Ten Point
 
pilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Boerne
Hunt In: Sisterdale and el dorado , Jeff Davis, refugio/sinton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 512robby View Post
Format using the device it will be used in if possible

Let the camera format the card

Not your computer

FAT32 has been the staple format for cards for a long time

Another newer format called EXFAT is taking over

Understand the difference an make sure you are formatting in the correct format for your device

Buy some electronic contact cleaning spray and keep the camera and card contacts clean


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Wow thank that explains why we are having problems
pilar is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 02:18 PM   #9
ultrastealth
Ten Point
 
ultrastealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Katy
Hunt In: Camp Wood, TX
Default

I read recently that a lot of the cards you get on ebay and amazon are counterfeit. Check where you are getting them.
ultrastealth is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 02:22 PM   #10
pilar
Ten Point
 
pilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Boerne
Hunt In: Sisterdale and el dorado , Jeff Davis, refugio/sinton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrastealth View Post
I read recently that a lot of the cards you get on ebay and amazon are counterfeit. Check where you are getting them.
Well wel the plot thickens! I not surprised we are having problems we bought our last batch of cards on Amazon

I just googled it and it seems to be a problem (bogus sd card )

Last edited by pilar; 01-24-2018 at 02:36 PM.
pilar is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 02:24 PM   #11
ultrastealth
Ten Point
 
ultrastealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Katy
Hunt In: Camp Wood, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilar View Post
Well well I not surprised we are having problems we bought our last batch of cards on Amazon
If you watch for sales, Office Depot and Best Buy are cheaper than amazon, and you are getting the real thing.
ultrastealth is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 03:43 PM   #12
512robby
Four Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Just for reference:

Cards up to 2GB =FAT 16 formatting

Cards 4GB to 32GB=FAT32 formatting

On FAT32 formatting, no single FILE can have a size greater than 4GB

64GB and above cards are EXFAT formatting

Check what size your camera will handle

It could be you are using a card larger than the camera can recognize


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
512robby is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 03:57 PM   #13
gingib
Pope & Young
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Central Tx
Hunt In: NTX
Default

I never do any of this. ANd have SD cards of all brands and sizes and 10 cameras of about 4-5 brands

Something isnt right. Buy Class 10 SD cards only
gingib is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 04:34 PM   #14
512robby
Four Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

https://goo.gl/images/HBFHbR

You are right about class 10 cards

They are the ones to buy

10, 6,4,2 are standard descriptive classes

10 being fastest and suitable for HD video

Ultra 1 and 2 are professional grade and more expensive

Look for a symbol C and # on the card to see what you bought


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
512robby is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 01-24-2018, 06:18 PM   #15
jheflinland
Four Point
 
jheflinland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Default

I had a bunch go bad on me this year. I bought them on Midway USA, pretty cheap. I was using mostly moultries and never formatted anything.

Just stick them in a camera, turn it on, and go.

Then I would copy the photos onto my hard drive on my computer, delete them off of the card, and put the cards back in cameras.

I never had a problem doing it this way but maybe once before I bought those cards from Midway.
jheflinland is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com