Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water Well Question

Well...kind of.

I have some experience with this but thought I might see what the green screen has to say.

We are building a house 350’ from my dads well that services his house. Plan is to tie into his water line between the well and his house and run 1.5” pvc to my house for water. I’m not sure of the elevation change exactly, but it’s uphill a bit. No more than 4’ I’d say over the total distance...if even that much.

We plan on putting a “well house” with a booster pump and bladder tank inline close to my house to make sure I have 30-50 psi at all times.

I’ve done this with much longer distances. Like a 1/2 mile or more, but not sure if it’s really needed in this situation. Anyone have any better experience with this?

Skinny

Bump

Skinny

Comment

I'm no expert but I don't think you will have any problem getting pressure even with the gain in elevation but the extra tank and booster pump would be good insurance for maintaining pressure during periods of high demand from both houses.

Comment

I’ve got a similar set up. Mine is about 300’ from the well. I set up a 350 gallon holding tank supplied by the well. After the holding tank I have my pump and bladder tank.

I was originally tied into the 1” line directly to the house. I had fairly good pressure but it would drop noticeably when the other home was using water as well.

Comment

My bet is that by running the larger line then reducing it at the house you will have plenty of water pressure without a booster. Just my thoughts, I would try it before I spent the money on a booster pump.

Comment

I would put a booster pump/presssure tank system in if I were you. As post #4 said you will notice it if more than one source is on.

You could probably go with a single phase booster pump and be okay.

Comment

Thanks for the input, fellas!

Skinny

Comment