Mechanical Broadheads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mechanical Broadheads

I have an elite synergy with a 70lbs limbs but a 27" draw. I'm new to bows and bow hunting and want to use a mechanical broad head to hunt with. My buddy keeps telling me that with my draw length my bow doesn't have enough power for the broad head to open up. Is he right about this or am I correct in assuming he's an idiot talking out of his a**? He does that a lot. What mech broad head and arrow combination should I use for hunting deer and hogs?

CX 350 Maxima Hunters with Rage BH's. or whatever BH fly's the best out of your bow.

Comment

Don't know why they wouldn't open... That's what they're designed to do
      You either love em or ya hate em... He must hate em

Comment

I shoot 26.5" draw at 70lbs and I kill deer and hogs with mechs! I shoot the grim reaper and the rage. I will admit that I prefer to use fixed heads on big hogs. Slick tricks and stingers.

Comment

I don't want to screw with BH's too much because this whole "tuning" thing defies me. You "try" to get the broad heads and field points to hit as close together as you can? seriously? I'm a big gun guy and that sounds to me like you want your factory loads to hit as close to your match grade rounds as possible.....it doesn't make sense lol. I really want to go with mechanicals, they just sound more practical.

Comment

It's a steerage thing.
            As long as the vanes are steering the arrow you can shoot whatever BH you want (as long as you're spine is right)
            BT if your BH has more steerage than the vanes, you'll never get it to tune right.

Mechs make it very easy to let the vanes do their job.
            Nothing wrong with them as long as you use them on the proper game.
            And if a big animal does show up, I'd angle it in just in case!

Comment

"And if a big animal does show up, I'd angle it in just in case!" what do you mean by that?

Comment