LBJ Grasslands/Public Hunting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LBJ Grasslands/Public Hunting

Howdy to the Texas Bowhunters and sportsmen who hunt the Grasslands and other Public hunting spots. My son and I have been hunting the grasslands for a couple of years now and have really enjoyed ourselves. We have seen a lot of does this year but no bucks as of yet. We have also hunted the Angelina National Forest and the public hunting area in Newton County. Pretty country down there, lots of thick woods, lots of clear cut areas where the lumber company has removed the timber!! Lots of skeeters too! Saw several does, big, but no opportunities for a clean shot. We are new to the bowhunting scene but are having a blast and was wondering if any of you would be interested in giving us some pointers as to some of the more productive areas to hunt the grasslands ie: creeks, open areas, pipelines, etc. I know by browsing this site that a lot of you hunt around the lakes where permissible. I am most interested in giving my 13 yr, old a chance to score, while slight in stature he is shooting a new Parker 50# BuckShot and is quite accurate with it out to 40 yrds, three arrows touching thanks for any info that you might be willing to provide, I will probably be hunting out there from Wed. afternoon on thru the weekend if I don't go to the Angelina, Sabine, Crockett, man this hunting is fun, always somewhere new to go, new places to see, we just can't hardly sit in a plastic box waiting by a feeder, rather be in a tree, and was that really a cougar and her cubs seen out by Cottonwood, we need some rain bad, all of those lakes are about gone thanks for any input that you guys and gals would give us. Rickzilla4645