Best hunt ever..deer are in pre rut in Sonora

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best hunt ever..deer are in pre rut in Sonora

I've been building a cabin for a little over 3 months now it's mostly done so time to haul it away. It took 3 hours just to load it cause it's huge and heavy. We ended up getting to the lease at 3am Saterday night..I could feel a cold and heavy cough setting in. I ended up sleeping in while my really dedicated bro (sticknstring) got up and hutning that next morning. It was kinda hot out so I ended up missing the evening hunt also slept on through..at this point my bro was concerned..I was just trying to beat the cough I had and it was pointless to bowhunt with a bad cough so sleeping was a better option. The last hunt would be the next morning and it was in the freezing zone at 6AM. It was like mother nature and god decided to give me all three hunts worth of action in this one hunt.
    I saw over 20 deer moving about..the corn was gone in the first 30 min of light. Bucks were lip curling and lightly hitting branches. Most deer I saw were just passing by. I saw the buck I wanted to kill but he was run off by hogs before I got a chance to draw back. I killed both hogs that ruh him off. Saw each on these deer and lots more, turkeys, pigs and axis

I only made off with 2 stinky pigs but it was awesome to see those big mature deer and know I might get to take one soon. I have not taken a big thophey type buck in 4 years.

Sorry for the long read..here the pigs I took. They are both 180 pound sows..great eats..gonna make some breakfest sausage.

congrats on the pork, btw that is a beast of a cummins!

Comment

very nice!
      how in the world did you load up that sweet lil' cabin?

Comment

Congrats on the pigs. Sorry about the cough, been there done that.

Comment