New to bows

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to bows

Other than camp as a kid, I am new to the bow scene. I got a Mission Endeavor to get me started and all the fixings that the shop recommended. Practiced a little and took down a 250-300# boar last weekend. Wanted to post pics, but I think they are to large from my phone so will have to do so when I get back to a computer. Anyway, I am upset that I did not start archery hunting sooner. I have a lot to learn. Can anyone recommend the best books, magazines, etc to get me going? Would like to learn more about the equipment, kinetic energy, arrow & broadhead weighs and the pro's/cons from going lighter or heavier. Thanks!

All the information you need hangs out on this site and others!

Only problem with magazines are the bias towards advertisers of their magazine.

Comment

AV, where are you located? I'd suggest a Bowhunter Ed course, not required in Texas except for a couple of spots. I'm a instructor in the DFW area, so I'm partial to the course.

The book I review a couple times a year is- Bowhunting Tactics of the Pros, Lamar Underwood.

Comment

I'm in Houston. Thanks, ill check out the book.

Comment

Razorback, I am also just getting interested in archery and bow hunting. Where do you teach at? I'm doing a lot of research now and hope to purchase a bow after the Christmas holidays. Can't wait to join the club!

Comment

Originally posted by 12RingKing View Post
            All the information you need hangs out on this site and others!

Only problem with magazines are the bias towards advertisers of their magazine.
            X2

Comment

If you need questions answered, you came to the right place.

Comment