Tanning my first hide. Advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tanning my first hide. Advice?

Having a go at tanning my first deer hide. I'm wanting to use the "pickling" method. Any advice you have for me or tricks of the trade? I'm a total amateur!

no advice but im tuned in to see how this process works.

Comment

tanning is the easy part...Breaking the hide is another story. What tan are you going to try?

Comment

I put mine in a bucket of warter vinegar and salt for a couple days then let it dry before I put the tan on. It is very hard to brake one if you use to much tan

Comment

I used the kit from McKenzie taxidermy. It was not that difficult. If you have an outside area where you can do this it will help. I you have to do it inside the aroma will not be pleasant. Sort of a mixture of dying Easter eggs and canning pickles.

Comment

Luton F, or krowtan, just follow directions with them.

Comment

Maybe it is not the best method, but the last time I tanned a deer hide, I used the Mckenzie kit on one and used a homemade method out of the Texas Monthly Magazine on another. After they were done, I used an angle grinder with wire brush wheel to break it. It softened up quick. I was a leathery mess but some compressed air cleaned it all off

Comment

Originally posted by yanta61 View Post
                tanning is the easy part...Breaking the hide is another story. What tan are you going to try?
                Sorry misread the question... I saw a tanning oil product on amazon I may order but I've been wondering if neatsfoot oil would work? I read to run the hide over a sawhorse or the edge of a table to soften it.
                Last edited by LittleLizaMarie; 01-21-2017, 02:28 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by spike25 View Post
                  I put mine in a bucket of warter vinegar and salt for a couple days then let it dry before I put the tan on. It is very hard to brake one if you use to much tan