Where to hunt Elk?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where to hunt Elk?

A good friend of mine and me are looking to plan an elk hunt before either of us get too old to pack one out.

I lived in NM for 4 years and despite applying as a resident every year, I never got drawn.

So I'm an elk rookie still.

What's the best way to get started? I really have no preference bull or cow, bow, muzzleloader or rifle. Just feel like I need to get started learning, and have an excuse to spend some time with a buddy in the mountains.

Any ideas/tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Most of Colorado is OTC for Archery and also for the 2nd and 3rd rifle seasons.

Comment

Thanks. Co was first on my list of places to look, since I had heard there are OTC tags and it's a two day drive.

Just want to be sure I'm not overlooking something obvious.

Because we are both elk rookies, I'm sure wherever we go, we will have fun. It's probably going to be a mountain camping trip interrupted by the occasional search for elk.

Comment

I would like to make an elk hunt one day as well...this thread has lots of info...looks like wyoming is the place from what ive looked at

Comment

A pack in hunt for Elk would be awesome! Hopefully I can finally do one next year. I know nothing about hunting elk but my father in law guides in 3 states so I feel I may learn a thing or 2.

Comment

Thanks for the link.

Bisch, I'd be interested in hearing more about your guided hunt. I wouldn't mind paying for a guide for the first trip, esp. if that means getting help packing the critter out!

Comment

There are plenty of drop camp outfitters in Colorado.

Comment

Originally posted by jefandaward View Post
                There are plenty of drop camp outfitters in Colorado.
                Drop camp is the way to go.

Comment

Okay, I'll bite. Why drop camp?

Comment

Something like this?