TPWD And alligator gar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

TPWD And alligator gar

First off I make my living off of them guiding. I Have a true respect for them. In no way do I want to see their numbers decline. Since the stopping of commercial fishing I truly believe they are healthy and thriving. Tpwd biologists have said the same recently in public hearings.

I want to see them put on a slot, one trophy and x amount of adolescent fish per year. Bowfishing to have the same restriction as Rod and Reel.

Separate Bowfishing stamp to create revenue

Alligator gar tag to create revenue, stocking programs for them.
    I do not understand as bowfisherman why we have to pay for standard fishing licenses when we can not harvest any of the game species the license funds stocking programs for.

This site introduces alligator gar, its life cycle and mating habits, threats to the species, and what TPWD is doing to address them

**THE ROD AND REEL ANGLERS NEED TO BE HELD TO THE SAME RESTRICTIONS/REGULATIONS AS BOWFISHERMAN**

They can not guarantee the survival of a released fish therefore should be regulated the same. The fish often swim off and die with the 4 ft of steel leader and a hook in the gut left behind. There is a low survival rate due to methods/means used to catch them. They gut hook them and drag them in literally by their insides. Stressing the fish and puncturing internal vitals after they have swallowed the bait.

I have a true respect for the alligator gar, I make my living off of them. I wish in no way for them to decline in numbers and was happy when they lowered the limit to one per person per day.

There is an anti Bowfishing agenda within TPWD and the CCA in the state of Texas. No Reds, No catfish? What’s next?
    The facts are solid, presented by their own biologists that we are at a sustainable harvest on alligator gar.