Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2018, 09:29 PM   #1
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default Travel trailer power question

First off excuse my ignorance in this dept, I haven’t used a travel trailer since I was a kid.

We are borrowing a 26’ camper to park in front of our house for some family coming to visit in a couple of weeks. The camper requires 50 amp service to run the electrical, specifically the 2 ac units.

I have a 2 pole circuit breaker, each with 50 amps that is unused. Is there anyway I can convert this circuit to power the camper? It currently has standard outlets. Are there adapters I can connect to a standard outlet that adapt to a 50 amp plug for the camper? Or can I rewire the outlet for a 50 amp service outlet for the camper?

Next question, assuming the above is possible, This outlet box is about 80’ from where the camper will be parked. I know that there will be some voltage drop over that distance, but will it be significant enough that it won’t power the camper?

Thanks and again sorry for the ignorance. I googled last night and didn’t find a lot of helpful info

Here is an image of the circuit if that helps.

Name:  1C023380-5E0E-47CF-8BCB-E54877EEB444.jpg
Views: 871
Size:  48.7 KB
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:40 PM   #2
thegrouse
Ten Point
 
thegrouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: Wilson and San Saba County
Default

Yes you should be able to rewire it with what you have there if the panel is setup with a neutral and ground. Is the camper a 120V or 240V plug?
thegrouse is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:41 PM   #3
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegrouse View Post
Yes you should be able to rewire it with what you have there if the panel is setup with a neutral and ground. Is the camper a 120V or 240V plug?
That’s a good question, not sure. If it 240, I have an outlet in the garage for a welder that is 240v
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:44 PM   #4
thegrouse
Ten Point
 
thegrouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: Wilson and San Saba County
Default

Check this page out it was first that popped up for me.

http://www.myrv.us/electric/Pg/50amp_Service.htm
thegrouse is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:45 PM   #5
Shane
Pope & Young
 
Shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Abilene, TX
Hunt In: Mismatched camo
Default

How long will they be there? Renting a spot at a nearby RV park might cost the same or less than wiring it up.
Shane is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:51 PM   #6
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane View Post
How long will they be there? Renting a spot at a nearby RV park might cost the same or less than wiring it up.
About a week, but there are no nearby RV parks
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:55 PM   #7
careybirdwell
Pope & Young
 
careybirdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Magnolia, TX
Hunt In: Ozona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Playa View Post
That’s a good question, not sure. If it 240, I have an outlet in the garage for a welder that is 240v
If the camper is 50 amp trailer it will be 240V. You should easily be able to use the circuit for a trailer. Just make sure you have 2 hots, 1 neutral, and 1 ground. The 80 ft should not be a problem for a short period of use. I would just make sure to try to conserve power and not run everything at once
careybirdwell is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 09:59 PM   #8
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by careybirdwell View Post
If the camper is 50 amp trailer it will be 240V. You should easily be able to use the circuit for a trailer. Just make sure you have 2 hots, 1 neutral, and 1 ground. The 80 ft should not be a problem for a short period of use. I would just make sure to try to conserve power and not run everything at once
Which circuit? The original 2 pole 50 amp or the 240v for the welder?
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 10:15 PM   #9
brokeno
Ten Point
 
brokeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Smiley, Texas
Hunt In: Gonzales & Young Co and anywhere
Default

Sounds like you need to get an electrician to help you out before you burn up some bodies trailer.
brokeno is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 10:16 PM   #10
careybirdwell
Pope & Young
 
careybirdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Magnolia, TX
Hunt In: Ozona
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Playa View Post
Which circuit? The original 2 pole 50 amp or the 240v for the welder?
I'm not to familiar with outlets for welders, but I have seen a few that doesn't use a neutral. That is why, I said if you have 2 hot legs, 1 neutral, and 1 ground, You will be fine
careybirdwell is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 10:20 PM   #11
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Here is the outlet for the welder. Doesent look like it has 2 hots, neutral and a ground

Name:  150E9F28-D07D-4BE5-8CA5-8BE3CE8774F3.jpg
Views: 719
Size:  47.6 KB

Last edited by Playa; 05-29-2018 at 10:31 PM.
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-29-2018, 10:20 PM   #12
Bisch
Pope & Young
 
Bisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sonora, Tx
Default

The camper plug will likely not fit in the welder socket.

Bisch


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Bisch is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 06:11 AM   #13
Razorback01
Pope & Young
 
Razorback01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Johnson Co.
Hunt In: where my Elite takes me!
Default

The link below is a good reference.

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf
Razorback01 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 07:33 AM   #14
hpdrifter
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: kerens
Hunt In: anywhere I can
Default

one more question..........how long is the campers hook-up/power cable?
hpdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 07:37 AM   #15
DRT
Pope & Young
 
DRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Hunt In: Jones and San Saba Counties and Missouri
Default

Welder outlet has no neutral. Two 120 volt legs and a ground.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
DRT is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:11 AM   #16
Dale Moser
Pope & Young
 
Dale Moser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wise Cty
Hunt In: Young Cty
Default

The trailer is not likely 240V.
Dale Moser is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:15 AM   #17
Sparkles
Pope & Young
 
Sparkles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: McKinney
Hunt In: Young County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Moser View Post
The trailer is not likely 240V.


If it’s a 50 amp cord it is
Not surprising with 2 ACs

Trailers are 30amp 120v or 50amp 240


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sparkles is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:23 AM   #18
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default Travel trailer power question

If the breaker that is labeled hot tub is available I would change that out to a non-GFCI breaker 50 amp two pole, and go to Home Depot and buy a 50 amp RV connection box. It will have what you need with it.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-50-Am...054P/100193650

Three #6 with a #10 ground will be the wire size you need.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by Mike D; 05-30-2018 at 08:26 AM.
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:27 AM   #19
WTucker
Eight Point
 
WTucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Orangefield
Hunt In: Mauriceville
Default

If its a 50 amp service trailer, it should be 240 volts. Run #6 to a RV box, and power it up. You may have an issue with the GFCI breaker though.
WTucker is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:34 AM   #20
9452772
Eight Point
 
9452772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Comal county
Default

Plugs on RVs with 30 amp service and 50 amp service differ in design.

A 30 amp plug has three prongs – a 120 volt hot wire, a neutral wire and a ground wire – and is generally used on RVs with lower load requirements.

A 50 amp plug has four prongs – two 120 volt hot wires, a neutral wire and a ground wire – that supply two separate 50 amp, 120 volt feeds.

A 50 amp service RV provides a maximum 12,000 watts.

Even with an adapter, your 30 amp service RV won’t receive more power than the 3,600 watts it can handle.

Conversely, if you use an adapter for a 50 amp RV, you’ll be limited to 3,600 watts.
9452772 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-30-2018, 08:40 AM   #21
savin yours
Pope & Young
 
savin yours's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Hunt In: Lampasas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkles View Post
If it’s a 50 amp cord it is
Not surprising with 2 ACs

Trailers are 30amp 120v or 50amp 240


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


This is correct.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
savin yours is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-04-2018, 10:52 PM   #22
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Welp I installed a 240v 50a plug to my 2 pole 50a circuit.

Name:  8C863A18-6B12-4078-AB70-DAEF1C99D121.jpg
Views: 436
Size:  71.5 KB

Name:  477FAD6B-A4CB-4B42-B15E-EAED90D39ACB.jpg
Views: 436
Size:  52.0 KB

Now I need to figure out where to find about an 80’ 50amp RV extension cord to run for the RV to the back porch
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-04-2018, 11:17 PM   #23
Low Fence
Pope & Young
 
Low Fence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Quitman, Tx.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Playa View Post
Welp I installed a 240v 50a plug to my 2 pole 50a circuit.

Attachment 910475

Attachment 910476

Now I need to figure out where to find about an 80’ 50amp RV extension cord to run for the RV to the back porch
Build one. If you have an electric co-op buy wire from them and just add ends ( gonna be pricey either way you go)
Low Fence is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2018, 12:14 AM   #24
savin yours
Pope & Young
 
savin yours's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Hunt In: Lampasas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Fence View Post
Build one. If you have an electric co-op buy wire from them and just add ends ( gonna be pricey either way you go)


This. I went to summit electric and built my welder extension cord.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
savin yours is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-05-2018, 11:23 AM   #25
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low Fence View Post
Build one. If you have an electric co-op buy wire from them and just add ends ( gonna be pricey either way you go)
I think I can borrow one from another contact, but building isn’t a bad option either
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-12-2018, 06:38 PM   #26
perow
Pope & Young
 
perow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Garland
Hunt In: Gordan, Moran
Default

PM sent
perow is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-12-2018, 07:12 PM   #27
meltingfeather
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: austin
Hunt In: Gillespie, San Saba & Kerr primarily
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Playa View Post
I have a 2 pole circuit breaker, each with 50 amps that is unused. Is there anyway I can convert this circuit to power the camper? It currently has standard outlets. Are there adapters I can connect to a standard outlet that adapt to a 50 amp plug for the camper? Or can I rewire the outlet for a 50 amp service outlet for the camper?
First, using that 50 amp 2 pole breaker to power "standard outlets" is not safe.
No, there is no adapter that will turn a 15 or 20 amp 120V outlet into a 50A 240V outlet.
If your camper plug is 50A it is 240. It's easy to tell since it will have three conductor prongs plus a ground.
Prolly looks like this:


That hot tub breaker will work. May have issues because it's GFCI. Two hots (one from each pole of the breaker) a neutral and a ground will git er done.
80 feet is no problem.
No. 6 AWG is recommended. No. 8 will get you by.

Last edited by meltingfeather; 06-12-2018 at 07:21 PM.
meltingfeather is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-12-2018, 07:36 PM   #28
Trailerman3
Ten Point
 
Trailerman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Gibtown
Hunt In: Mason,Gibtown,Rocksprings
Default

The plug might be 240 but the trailer will be 120. It’ll have two separate 120 legs powering the trailer 6000w each. One will power one ac and some accessories and the other leg will power the other ac and accessories but they won’t be tied together supplying 240 to a/c’s.

Very rarely will one be 240 only high end normally if then.
Trailerman3 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-14-2018, 02:10 PM   #29
Playa
Pope & Young
 
Playa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lubbock
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Playa View Post
Welp I installed a 240v 50a plug to my 2 pole 50a circuit.

Attachment 910475

Attachment 910476

Now I need to figure out where to find about an 80’ 50amp RV extension cord to run for the RV to the back porch
Just concluding this thread, this all worked. Powered up the Camper last night via 100’ of 50 amp extension cords running from my back porch to my front curb.

Have a guy we go to church with sells RV’s he loaned the extensions, those things are ‘spensive!!!!
Playa is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com