Two Fletching Arrows

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Two Fletching Arrows

I'm trying 2 fletching arrows in stead of 3 or 4 fletching.

I did it on one arrow to start just to see how it would work. My 2 fletch arrow seems to fly straighter and flatter that all of my others and also it seems to hit the target straighter and penetrate deeper.

Has anyone else out there shooting traditional archery experienced anything similar or something different.

Let us all know
    Bulletpusher

Navajo Indians used a two fletched arrow. They used a whole feather on the top and bottom of the shaft and tied on with senew. I have a couple at home, pretty neat. If it works, do it. I have no personal experience with two fletched arrows. I bet it makes the arrow a little bit weaker since there is less weight on the back of the arrow.

Comment

So would you nock them completely vertical?

Comment

Not Vertical

reddogdan,

They are not vertical, with my fletcher you use the 4-fletch parts and the set them 180 off from each other. That puts the fletching at close to a 45° tilt to the right on top and 45° to the left on the bottom (at the shelf).

This seams to clear the riser very quickly with very little upset to the arrow on release.

The first one that I did, was with 2ea 4" parabolic fetchings, my oldest son has 2-fletched a bunch of arrows with 5" shield cut. He has not had a chance to shoot them yet due to weather and some illness.

I've got some new 5" shield cuts feathers coming from Sagittarius and I'm going to give them a try.

Bulletpusher

Comment

In the early 70's I was in a bow hunting club. There were only 12 members. We tried to build our arrows as cheaply as possible so we didn't care if we lost them and could take shots even if we knew we would lose them.