Welder & welding ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Welder & welding ?

OK, I am a absolute rank amateur when it comes to welding. I have welded and it held, but it was not even close to being bad, but it held, SO what would you recommend for me buying a welder to learn on? I have a 220 plug already in my garage, but only 110 at the lease. Suggestions and possible books, videos I could watch and learn to weld if that is even possible. Thanks!

Miller 211 great machine and dual voltage 110/220.

Comment

Dual voltage mig. Size will depend on what you expect to be welding and what the budget is.

Comment

Originally posted by Speed Freak View Post
        Miller 211 great machine and dual voltage 110/220.
        Get this and weld your butt off

Comment

If you can go bigger than I would, that being said I have Lincoln 140 110v and have welded a lot of stuff (high rack, stuff on tractor, pipe fence, etc) and it's strong. The only thing limiting me with the 110v is it's duty cycle.

Comment

As a rank amateur, do you think spending $1200 bucks on a welder is a good idea not even knowing how to weld properly? Just asking. I do not know basically nothing about welding, but want to learn!

Comment

Spend the money for a decent machine once - or buy a Chinese machine, deal with the frustration that comes with it, and eventually end up spending the money on a good machine. I have done this myself. I ended up buying a Miller 211 and it was most definitely money very well spent! Highly recommended!

Comment

Originally posted by BigCohiba View Post
                Spend the money for a decent machine once - or buy a Chinese machine, deal with the frustration that comes with it, and eventually end up spending the money on a good machine. I have done this myself. I ended up buying a Miller 211 and it was most definitely money very well spent! Highly recommended!
                Thanks!!!!!!!

Comment