Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Traditional

Old 05-31-2017, 11:56 AM   #1
bloodstick
Ten Point

Hunt In: All over Texas
Question Arrow setup

I've been soaking up as much info as i can about proper tuning of your hunting shafts lately.
Recently i picked up some CE Heritage 250 (400 spine) cut to 30.5" with a 125 grain head. I dont have a scale to know exactly what my setup weighs but guess it to be 450 grains +or- a few.
Shooting out of a 45# Sage at 28" draw, this should be a sufficient hunting rig? If i wanted to go , say, another 50 grains up front i need to cut down my arrow about an inch (which is already long enough to clear my fingers with a broadhead) and add a heavier insert or go to a 175gr head?

I really want to practice with what i will hunt with especially since im new at this.
bloodstick is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2017, 12:09 PM   #2
Junkers88
Ten Point

Hunt In: searching

Have you shot them yet?

Richard.
Junkers88 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2017, 12:18 PM   #3
shortstroke 91
Eight Point

My guess is that those 250s are gonna be way stiff with just 125 out front on a #45 Sage. My bet is to get really good flight you'll have to go up to 225 or 250.
Just my $.02.
I'd be willing to bet you could get away with 150s or maybe even 90s with 125 though. That will depend on draw length, release and centershot though.
shortstroke 91 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-31-2017, 12:19 PM   #4
bloodstick
Ten Point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junkers88 View Post
Have you shot them yet?

Richard.
Yes, and they are grouping decent for my very short limited experience.
I want heavy, but dont want to overstep what my bow can handle for just getting started in trad
Old 05-31-2017, 12:22 PM   #5
bloodstick
Ten Point

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortstroke 91 View Post