planting australian winter peas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

planting australian winter peas?

I've got the ground disced and am going to drag it tomorrow. should the peas be seeded prior to draggin so that they are covered. or drug and then pack the seeds. Still have quite a bit of ground moisture and want to get them in as I'm running out of time with upcoming surgery, and I hate asking someone else for help.

also red vs white clover. $1.37 lb on red $3.57 lb for white. is it worth 2 bucks on the difference of clover. will be planted with oats/brassica/ and chicory mix.

and wow... picked up some kale and rape seed 8.87 a pound. thank goodness a lb of those lil seeds goes a long way

Last week when asking some of the same questions, I was told to:
    1. Disk
    2. Seed
    3. Use a roller

Didn't have a roller so I ran over all of it with the tractor's tires. Farmer said that was just as good.

Hope this helps - I'm no expert, just passing on what I heard.

I used just about everyting you have listed. Winter peas, clover, chickory, wheat and oats. I have a thread somewhere on here this week that has pictures of some my planted plots.

Comment

Just as Dejashooter said do.

1. Disk
      2. Seed
      3. Use a roller

If you don't have a roller take you a piece of chain link fence and nail a heavy board to one end of it and drag it. Anything to get some dirt over the seed. Deisel is too high to run all over it with the tractor tire.

Comment

I'm new at this so if you don't mind ruffrider I'd like to piggyback on the thread real quick. I just got done mowing my plots, I'm going to get a tiller out and do a good one over on the plots first. Then I'm going to go back and disk up the plots. So do you fertilizer when you plant or after you plant?

Also when you say "seed" do you mean broadcast the seeds or are people using drills to plant? I'm sure most Average Joe's don't have seed drills but I'm just making sure!

Comment