PDA

View Full Version : How Many Times a Day do you Feed

Cipher
07-27-2009, 12:27 PM
And about how much per feeding?

I just set my timer up to go off a 6:30 AM, 6 PM and 1 AM (for the hogs). It runs 15 seconds each time.

Am I throwing too much corn or not enough? It sure didn't look like a lot of corn on the ground during a test spin.

Also, how far from the spinner plate in the funnel supposed to be?

This is my first time on a lease after 13 years or so of public land hunting - I'm excited about being able to have a permanent stand location :)

lil'murdock
07-27-2009, 12:30 PM
If your throwing 3 times a day at 15 seconds a piece holy **** thats alot of corn. I would turn that down a bit.

Cipher
07-27-2009, 12:33 PM
You would think - huh. It sure doesn't look like a lot.

Old Blue
07-27-2009, 12:34 PM
You will have to see how the corn goes down.All are different. I gauge my spinner with my index finger.can putmy finger between spinner and cone to the middle of my finger nail.its about a 1/4 of a inch. Best to only feed enough to be on groundfrom when you feed til dark or while your hunting. That my opinion.

CapnKirk
07-27-2009, 12:35 PM
Sure sounds like a lot to me.

Try this:

Cover your spinner with a plastic grocery bag to catch all of the corn, push the feed button.

Weigh how much is thrown and then do the math.

You can tell how often you will need to fill your feeder.

Right now I feed 2 lbs. per feeding (5 seconds) twice a day.

Red Wing R/C
07-27-2009, 12:38 PM
On my deer feeder, I run it just a tad (few seconds) in the am and about 4pm in the evening. Run it to long where I hunt and the turkeys won`t leave you alone. :)

Jmh05
07-27-2009, 12:38 PM
I would monitor how full your barrel is after one week and do the math and if you can afford 15sec. 3x a day than, DO IT!

I would change your PM feeding to about 815-830pm. At 6pm it's still too hot and light to get alot of stuff coming to it. Most animals prefer to move right before dusk.