PDA

View Full Version : Spin help

Wildman
04-11-2010, 09:35 AM
Recurve center cut riser 49# @ 28" 125gr. 28 3/4 arrows fletched with rw helical5.5 high back shields

Arrows are 2016 Easton Legacy xx75

Out of my long bow also center cut riser 50# @28", this set up is dot on and I can shoot consistent groups. With my recurve these same arrows are hitting 6" left and consist groups.

Is left too stiff or not enough spine?

Bullrdr82
04-11-2010, 10:07 AM
I am no expert, but assuming you are shooting right handed then I would think they are too stiff. This is coming from what you are saying.

What I dont understand is why there is so much difference, without having a big difference in poundage.

Not trying to sound critical, but could it be your form rather than the arrow? Maybe you are torquing the Recurve riser??

Just thinking out loud here. I know there will be quite a few of the experts chime in, but it might not be until tomorrow or late tonight.... Most are at Vanderpool right now.

Wildman
04-11-2010, 10:45 AM
I just read some on brace height and there is a point at which the arrow leaves the string. Too much brace height and the arrow leaves at a different point same in vise/versa.

Also, string material is critical (from what I just read) in the factor of arrow flight. I have fast flight on my longbow and B-50 on my recurve.

Form....... oh come on man I got perfect form each and every shot! :D

Seriously, the form is fine as my arrows at 15 yards are all almost touching. It is something else. String material, brace height, or spine. Since I have gone from 8.5 to 7.5 on brace height and nothing really changed but arrow flight (swirling), I am still wondering if there is another factor to consider.

I am not getting any fletching damage, there is no excessive wear on my riser plate or seal hair rest from the arrow.

I have shot 85 grain to 125 and seem to keep the same 6ish left groups. I don't have any 160gr tips.

Txnrog
04-11-2010, 11:05 AM